Questions
we get asked a lot...

     Is there anything you wonder about BeforeSunset? Then, please take a look at the questions we get asked a lot first and feel free to contact us if you still have something on your mind.

What is BeforeSunset?

BeforeSunset is a simple, flexible yet powerful time tracking and budget management software that gives actionable insights. It merges time and project management in the breeze so that you can focus on productivity.

Who should use BeforeSunset?

Those who want to enhance his/her remote work experience, to ensure smooth project progress, to track team performance, manage time efficiently, and plan their budgets with ease should use BeforeSunset with a mind in peace. BeforeSunset is used in many industries from engineering to IT, from creative industries to management consulting and design. Including those who employ freelancers and hourly workers. It is also used by professionals who bill their customers by the hour.

Is BeforeSunset free?

BeforeSunset is in the Beta version now, and it is free for a limited period.

Is there a mobile app?

BeforeSunset mobile version will be launched in late 2022.

What are the differences between member roles?

Users can only track and view time entries for the projects they are assigned to. Project managers can track time and project progress, as well as view and edit their own and members' time entries only in the projects they manage. Account managers have project managers' permissions, and on top of that, they can invite team members, manage projects, generate detailed reports and configure the account settings.

To , go to the create account page. Enter your email address and account name. Afterward, sign up with Google if your email is Google-based, or set your password. Congrats and welcome!

To , go to the login page. Enter your email address and password, or if you have a Google-based email address, sign in with Google.

How to create a project

Before starting to track time, you must create projects. You can see the Create Project button in the Projects section, or in the Time section if your account has no project yet.

1. Click on the Create Project button.
2. Create a client or choose from the drop-down list.
3. Enter the project's name.
4. Choose a project type: billable or non-billable.
5. Create or add tasks to the project. You can mark them as billable or non-billable.
6. Add members to the project and save your project.

How to start tracking time

You can add time entries for work that you have already completed or start a timer while you're working on a task.

1. Click on the Add button in the Time section.
2. Choose the project and task. If you're not able to choose any project or your project is not on the list, contact your account manager.
3. Enter your notes (optional).
4. Click on Start Timer for starting a timer, or enter a duration and click on Save Time.

How to designate a user as a project manager or account manager

A newly invited member is by default assigned the role of a user. The project manager role is an automated role, which means that when a user is marked as a project manager in a project, their role is updated as project manager. If the project manager's marks are removed from all the projects, their role is updated as a user. You can mark users on the Create/Edit Projects pages or the member's Projects Page.

To change a member's role to an account manager, click on the member's name in the Team section. Click on the Edit button and you'll be directed to the member's info page. There you will see the Permission section and the roles. Choose Account Manager and click on Update.

How to add members to my account

The invited members will receive an invitation mail and can sign up.

1. Click on the Add button in the Team section.
2. Enter the email address of the member, you can designate them as Employee or Contractor.
3. Click on Invite.

Note that invited members are considered to be active team members. If your seats are full, you must increase the team size from the Account Information page before inviting a new member. Also, if you do not want to be charged for the invitations which are not accepted, you may delete these invitations and then decrease your team size.

How to remove members to my account

Team members can be archived from the account. After a member is archived, their data will remain but the member will lose access to the account.

You can archive a member from the Team section, by clicking on the menu dots and then the Archive Member button; or by going to the member's info page and clicking on the Archive button.

What will happen when I close my account?

When you close an account, the account and all the related data will be deleted permanently.

BeforeSunset works where you do.

Start using BeforeSunset. No credit card needed!

Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.